2015 Distinguished Citizen Award Winners: 

Duncan Keith, Chicago Blackhawks 

Duncan Keith, 32, has been a member of the Chicago Blackhawks organization since being drafted by the team in the second round (54th overall) of the 2002 National Hockey League Draft. The three-time Stanley Cup winner was honored with the 2015 Conn Smythe Trophy as the player deemed most valuable to this team in the playoffs this past year after setting postseason career highs in assists and points during the club's Stanley Cup Final run. Keith, a British Columbia native, also won the gold medal with Team Canada at the 2010 and 2014 Winter Olympics. A two-time winner of the James Norris Trophy as the league's top defenseman, Keith has also been named to two NHL All-Star Games. Through his charity. Keith Relief, which aims to help alleviate some of the financial and emotional burdens of families and individuals during times of medical crises, over $250,000 has been raised since 2012 for the organization and Ronald McDonald House Charities of Chicagoland and Northwest Indiana. 






Edward Luce, Chief U.S. Commentator, Financial Times

Edward Luce is one of the most highly read columnists at the Financial Times, where he has also served as Washington bureau chief, Capital Markets editor, and South Asia bureau chief. From 1999 to 2001, he was speechwriter to Treasury Secretary Lawrence Summers. Luce brings a Washington insider's approach to American issues, ranging from the new normal economics, American foreign policy in an increasingly geopolitical world, to Obama's presidency, the revival of U.S. cities, and the decline of the U.S. middle class. 

In his most recent book, Time to Start Thinking: America and the Specter of Decline, Luce draws on his considerable experience and connections to mount a controversial argument: America is losing its pragmatism. He is also recognized as one of the leading authorities on a rising India. The Economist declared his book In Spite of the Gods "likely to be the definitive book on India for some time to come." Other international topics include globalization, China, and the UK. Luce is also an experienced and accomplished moderator. 


Past Distinguished Citizen Award Winners: 

1964  William Blackie, James B. Forgan, Jr., James G. McMillan, Hugh Robertson, R. Douglas Stuart

1965  Chief Judge William Campbell, John T. Prie, D. W. Maxwell

1966  David M. Kennedy, Dr. J. Roscoe Miller

1967  Hughston McBain of McBain

1968  Fairfax M. Cone, Gov. Richard B. Ogilvie

1969  Lawrence A. Kimpton

1970  Foster Glendale McGaw

1971  Arthur MacDougal Wood

1972  Angus John Ray

1973  William B. Graham

1974  Angus Macdonald

1975  Dr. James Allan Campbell, The Hon. Edward Hirsch Levi

1976  Judge Thomas Roberts McMillen, William Wood-Prince

1977  Clayton Kirkpatrick

1978  Daniel Miller MacMaster

1979  James R. Munro

1980  William Harrison Fetridge

1981  Thomas G. Ayres

1982  Robert E. McMillan

1983  Harold Byron Smith, Jr.

1984  Robert D. Stuart, Jr.

1985  Stanton R. Cook

1986  Frederick G. Jaicks

1987  Bryan S. Reid, Jr.

1988  Silas Stawn Cathcart

1989  Kingman Douglass



1990  Dr. Robert E. J. Snyder

1991  Johnny “Red” Kerr

1992  S. Jay Stewart

1993  Andrew Thomson, M.D.

1994-95 Dawn Clark Netsch, William H. Alexander

1996  Calvin A. Campbell, E. Wayne Rethford

1997  Rev. John M. Buchanan

1998  John W. Cruikshank III

1999  The Hon. William J. Bauer

2001  Richard H. McKay

2002  Prof. Tony Jones (President Glasgow School of Art & School of Art Institute Chicago)

2003  Governor James R. Thompson (former Governor of        Illinois)

2004  David Stenhouse (BBC Scotland)

2005  Thomas J. Campbell (California Congressman, Stanford Law School, Nov 2010 senate run)

2006  Alfred McDougal (Chicago Philanthropist)

2007  Barry MacLean (Chairman, MacLean Fogg)

2008  Arne Duncan (US Secretary for Education)

2009  Azeem Ibrahim (Scottish born philanthropist, businessman, political journalist, lives in Chicago)

2010  Rachel Barton Pine (world renowned violinist)

2011  Charlie Trotter (world renowned Chef)

2012  Sir Fraser Stoddart (world's leading nanotechnologist)

2013  Mr. Robert Crawford (Owner, Brook Furniture Rental)

2014 Reverend Calum I. MacLeod

2015 Duncan Keith (Chicago Blackhawks), Edward Luce (Chief U.S. commentator, Financial Times)